Local street football in Nigeria has an allure all on its own.

street-1

Shorts and Jersey- Dirty looking sneakers or bare foot- determination not to lose are all you need to partake in the round leather game over here in Africa, precisely Nigeria. Nigeria is a country found in the western region of Africa; with over 500 ethnic groups, football is no denying part of the culture of Nigerians. The local street football are staged in, around, cities, villages, towns. LSG is totally different from top flight football. Here, rickety old sandals or stones replace the modern football net.

street2

There are also no football Clubs here; instead, ‘set’ is used, comprising of 3 to 4 players. Refs are also not needed in this game- a timer is used, or a set is defeated when they concede 1-2 goals. 16-year old Fred who is a rabid fan of the game, explained the local street football in Nigeria is also a system of making money. ‘’ Street football is my source of income’’ he told me. ‘’ my mum owns a shop just down the road, and she struggles to make ends meet. So I use my income from street football to feed myself. Though it’s strenuous.’’ Some may wonder what income he’s talking about. Well literally, he means betting. LSG with its trademark across states in Nigeria is also seen as a source of making money to most of its players. But even that path is quite difficult according to fred, as you have to play to the extreme to win money. ‘’ when we play betting, am always under immense pressure cause if you don’t win, you will lose your money, so you have to go and score goals to win ‘’ he noted. Tactically, goals are essential and compulsory in LSG. Infact, less attention is placed on defense. The trio in a ‘set’ are mostly observed trooping forward in search of goal, though, occasionally, one player drops back to safe guard the goal post. But he is also guilty of overlapping and taking long range shots in a bid to score. Skills are also part of the excitement of LSG. Players are immortalized when they dribble all on their own to score, even though it’s frustrating to the other team-mates. Fred who is well noted for his trickery, pace and ardent lover of betting confesses LSG has impacted and taught his more about football, and he hopes to one-day achieve his dream by playing in football’s grand stage. ‘’am just like everybody here who has a dream to play big one day ‘’ he said. ‘’ betting in our street football hasn’t taught me negative things as people would think, it has shown life is all about competition and you have to work tirelessly to earn a penny’’ he concluded.

About Oghidi Paul

BLOGGER, GEEK , SOCIAL MEDIA ADDICT My Name is Oghidi Paul, I’m a 20 something years old web designer from Nigeria, currently studying Computer Science at the University of Benin, Nigeria. As it’s been said, if you love things, Material or Immaterial, they always find a way to love you back. The way I’m passionate about my job, it comes to me naturally. If all you want is a creative website that is eye catching and SEO friendly, then that’s when I come in. My passion is all about creating real elegant looking websites, always keeping it clean and simple with that added functionality of user interaction you would like to see. My job is to build your website so that it is functional and user friendly, SEO friendly(Search Engine Optimization is no longer black hat tricks, but a standard part of any serious web marketing plan) and at the same time attractive. My aim is to bring your message and identity to your targeted audience in the most creative way. I’m available for freelance work. If you would like to get in touch with me, then be sure to connect with me via any of the following links: E-mail:oghidipaul@gmail.com Phone: +2347062720709

Posted on November 15, 2013, in Football. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Sincerely Yours,I noticed your blogs named “Local street football in Nigeria has an allure all on its own. | cscmajor” regularly. Your story-telling style is witty, keep up the good work! And you can check my website about 阿凡達.

  2. Sincerely Yours,I noticed your blogs named “Local street football in Nigeria has an allure all on its own. | cscmajor” on a regular basis. Your humoristic style is spectacular, keep it up! And you can look my website about 李宗瑞照片.

  3. Hello,I log on to your blog named “Local street football in Nigeria has an allure all on its own. | cscmajor” regularly. Your story-telling style is witty, keep doing what you`re doing! And you can look our website about 偷拍.

  4. EgW3h6 Enjoyed every bit of your post.Thanks Again. Cool.

What do you think?

Pastor Flash

Some things are just worth sharing

Awakened

These are my thoughts, feelings and words. Welcome to my mind.

Dree Speaks Freely

Clearing My Thoughts. Speaking My Mind. On My Own Terms.

Yellow Igbo Girl

You Know You Love Me...YellowIgboGirl

'DARE AKINWALE

observations...

obafuntay

But then... this is what I think, what do I know?

For The Ravenous

The only thing you need to survive is hunger

Ramblings of a Semi-Cool Dude

See Life Through An Ex-nerd's Glasses

Thru Lola's Eyes

Inspiring people...

nostalgic words of future me

These words shall be my legacy. The man I am now and the man I was when I am the man I shall be....

Untold Stories

'There Is No Greater Agony Than Bearing an Untold Story Inside You' ~ Maya Angelou

NAIJAYARNZ

NEWS, ENTERTAINMENT, SPORTS, FASHION, ALL IN ONE.

The Crazy Nigerian

...crazy stories, crazy pictures, crazy videos

Tabby's corner

Chilling in my little world of daydreams... or maybe not

