Living A Purpose-Filled Life

image

So, I’m a strong believer that everything
happens for a reason. Every single thing.
My birth. Yours. We are all put on earth for
a purpose. I mean, it makes sense. God is
too brilliant to put us all on here just to
hang out, chill, and be lost. That would
mean the earth was created as a sample
site. We come here, randomly, we try out
different things and poof! one day, we’re
gone. Into thin air. I don’t mean to be so
so dramatic…But yea, you get the point.
It’s way more bottomless than that. We
are here for a reason, for a purpose, to be
or do something. It’s exceptionally
important that we seek that purpose. This
mandate has become especially important
to me, considering the year we, as young
people, have had. Gone are the days when
“death” was associated with old people,
who have presumably lived and fulfilled
the purpose for which they were born. This
year especially, young people have been
dropping like flies. Every other day, I log
into my Facebook or scroll through my
BBM Updates list only to be bowled over
by the amount of “RIPs” I come across- we
are talking 19, 23, 25, 28 year olds. I
mean, what is really happening?
This devastating trend first hit close to
home for me a couple of years ago when I
lost a close family friend of mine, Jody. I
was so hurt, I couldn’t stop crying. But
when I looked up, I was inspired. I wasn’t
crying alone. The world was crying with
me. Jody had touched so many lives in so
many different ways. Jody was not a
celebrity, according to Hollywood
standards. But he was a celebrity in the
hearts of many. Yes, we must go on living
after we have lost people that we love. But
it is not enough to say “RIP” and “life is
short”, be sad for a period of time and
move on. It is imperative that we learn a
thing or two from the lives that they lived…
how to improve ours. Loosing Jody got me
thinking, if I left this world tomorrow, what
would my legacy be? What would people
say about me? How have I lived? For what
purpose, am I here? We all need to ask
ourselves those questions.
I’m a wordhunter. I read books & articles
just to steal and learn new words…Don’t
judge my word-thieving ways! Well, until I
tell you more about it in a later post. So… I
was word hunting, when I came across a
new word “Nihilistic”. So I “Wiki-ed” it to
find out it was based on Nihilism, a
doctrine that purports that life has no
meaning, purpose or intrinsic value. In one
word, inexcusable. In another, illogical.
Don’t be Nihilistic. In the words of Steve
Jobs (R.I.P), “Do you want to spend the
rest of your life selling sugared water or do
you want a chance to change the world?….
You can’t connect the dots looking
forward; you can only connect them
looking backwards. So you have to trust
that the dots will somehow connect in your
future. You have to trust in something —
your gut, destiny, life, karma, whatever.”
Take the time to find out what you’re here
for. It’s not about the amount of money
you have or make, your striking looks, or
the amount of followers you have on
twitter. It’s more cavernous than that. Ask
yourself, “what am I here for?, what do I
feel the most alive doing? what are my
deepest values and beliefs?” Keep it with
you on a daily basis and slowly but
steadily work on yourself to the point
where you become that purpose. We are
all Works in Progress. The important part
is making sure the “Progress” stays with
the “Work”. Then, watch the advent of
greater focus and clarity in your life.
A few mini suggestions?…do something
that’s been tugging at your heart. Start
that business, go back to school, apply for
that dream job, write a book, join a
mentorship program, call your friend from
high school, take the time to talk with
someone who’s having a hard time, call
your family more often, gently smile at
someone random or send a text or FB
message just to say hi. You never know
whose life you’ll touch.
Don’t forget…a life with meaning is a life
better lived.
Stay Inspired….

About Oghidi Paul

BLOGGER, GEEK , SOCIAL MEDIA ADDICT My Name is Oghidi Paul, I’m a 20 something years old web designer from Nigeria, currently studying Computer Science at the University of Benin, Nigeria. As it’s been said, if you love things, Material or Immaterial, they always find a way to love you back. The way I’m passionate about my job, it comes to me naturally. If all you want is a creative website that is eye catching and SEO friendly, then that’s when I come in. My passion is all about creating real elegant looking websites, always keeping it clean and simple with that added functionality of user interaction you would like to see. My job is to build your website so that it is functional and user friendly, SEO friendly(Search Engine Optimization is no longer black hat tricks, but a standard part of any serious web marketing plan) and at the same time attractive. My aim is to bring your message and identity to your targeted audience in the most creative way. I’m available for freelance work. If you would like to get in touch with me, then be sure to connect with me via any of the following links: E-mail:oghidipaul@gmail.com Phone: +2347062720709

Posted on December 1, 2013, in Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

Pastor Flash

Some things are just worth sharing

Awakened

These are my thoughts, feelings and words. Welcome to my mind.

Dree Speaks Freely

Clearing My Thoughts. Speaking My Mind. On My Own Terms.

Yellow Igbo Girl

You Know You Love Me...YellowIgboGirl

'DARE AKINWALE

observations...

obafuntay

But then... this is what I think, what do I know?

For The Ravenous

The only thing you need to survive is hunger

Ramblings of a Semi-Cool Dude

See Life Through An Ex-nerd's Glasses

Thru Lola's Eyes

Inspiring people...

nostalgic words of future me

These words shall be my legacy. The man I am now and the man I was when I am the man I shall be....

Untold Stories

'There Is No Greater Agony Than Bearing an Untold Story Inside You' ~ Maya Angelou

NAIJAYARNZ

NEWS, ENTERTAINMENT, SPORTS, FASHION, ALL IN ONE.

The Crazy Nigerian

...crazy stories, crazy pictures, crazy videos

Tabby's corner

Chilling in my little world of daydreams... or maybe not

